Day: October 2, 2014

Day 2: decision to stay longer

I have been very fortunate in this trip to have met someone else who got his hairline fixed at Dr Feriduni the same time as me, his name is George (he won’t mind me saying) and get on well. I don’t feel so isolated with him around which is great and we seem to make decisions together, with one being when we are heading back to the UK. It was originally planned to go back tomorrow but neither of us felt ready, especially with my panic attack buying a cable from two shops down, the thought of going through two countries scared the pants off me. Plus we liked getting our hair washed everyday, it was something we didn’t have to worry about. We have now decided to stay til next Tuesday, so exactly a week after the surgery. We are both happy with the decision and think it is best for our circumstances.

Day two: unplanned venture outside

I started today with anxiety, but nothing to do with my transplants itself. I went to bed unable to get my ipad charger to work, so with the thought of not being able to stream the internet the next day or more importantly talk to my girlfriend I knew I had to venture out for a new cable. The good news was I knew where to get one, the bad was the fact it was out in the real world. So far the only places I’ve been are the hotel and the clinic, which are very acustomed to seeing hair transplants so the thought of meeting people that maybe are not so sympathetic or understanding worried me. I knew it had to be done so I was brave, I left the hotel at 8:59am to get to the shop at 9:00am as it was only down the road, I walked out confident with my bandana on (which was really easy to put on) and walked to the shop only to be confronted with a closed sign, I was gutted, I decided to scurry back to the hotel for take two in 30 minutes when the shop opened. So at 9:29am, feeling like Bill Murray from Groundhog Day I walked down the street again to the shop and started searching for the ipad cable. I was in there for about 10 minutes looking but couldn’t find one, at this time the store was getting busier, I wanted the cable and to run if I’m honest so the only hope was to ask a staff member. I found someone quickly, enquired about the cable and she went in the back to get one, my heart was beating very fast but I kept thinking of my girlfriend and how I needed to stay strong. She came out and said, this one is 20euros which is expensive but she could have said the cable will cost you 3 magic beans and one of your kidneys and I would have accepted as long as I could go back quickly. I paid and ran to the exit, walked quickly to my hotel, up the lift and to the hotel room door, I sighed in relief and reached to get my key card, which I couldn’t find, started panicking and went to ask reception for a new one, finally got in my room and was very much relieved to be back in my room.